Best Supporting Actress - Cassandra Jansma (Anything Goes)
Best Supporting Actor - Tyler Willmer (Anything Goes)
Breakout Performance - Eric Proctor (Anything Goes)
Best Actor - Connor Stewart (Arsenic and Old Lace)
Best Actress - Abby Taylor (Anything Goes)

Volunteer of the Year - the White family


Best Supporting Actress - Katie Lytle (Escanaba in Love)
Best Supporting Actor - Tim Gingerich (Shrek)
Breakout Performance - Jordan White (Shrek)
Best Actor - Tyler Willmer (Escanaba in Love)
Best Actress - Marley Camacho (Shrek)
Volunteer of the Year - Jim Killion


Best Supporting Actress - Emily Slater (Xanadu)

Best Supporting Actor - Jeremiah Souza (Xanadu)

Breakout Performance - Sara Brown (Harvey)

Best Actor - Brian Camacho (Xanadu)

Best Actress - Pam Robinson (Harvey)

Volunteer of the Year - Carrie Gallagher


Best Male Performance - Bruce Roetman (Fiddler on the Roof)

Best Male Performance - Zack Curtis (Fiddler on the Roof)

Best Female Performance -Emily Nemeth (Fiddler on the Roof)

Best Female Performance - Emily Slater (Fiddler on the Roof)

"Fiddler" Award - Gordon Kelley (Fiddler on the Roof

Breakout Performance - Lindsay Tallian (Fiddler on the Roof)

Best Set Design - LaFonna Kananen (Escanaba in da Moonlight)

Best Musical Ensemble - Director -Scott Beyer, Percussion -Kevin Adams, Keyboard -Mary Cusack, Guitar -RJ Gardner, Trombone -Mark Gerdes, Violin -Peggy Jaynes, Clarinet -Tammy Kneale, Violin -Leisel Nunez, Oboe -Amelia McGinnis, Bass -Rob Powers, Clarinet -Anne Preidis, Flute -Evie Proulx, Trumpet -Scott Toaz (Fiddler on the Roof)

Best Reprisal - Director LaFonna Kananen; Cast - Adam Rewa, Paul Frost, Bruce Roetman, Walt Downes, Andrew Cusack, Melissa Cusack (Escanaba in da Moonlight)

Volunteer of the Year - LaFonna Kananen


Best Supporting Actor - Jim Albert (Mayor Shinn in The Music Man)

Best Supporting Actress -Pam Robinson (Mrs. Paroo in The Music Man)

Outstanding Vocal Performance - Mindy Hensley (Marian Paroo in The Music Man)

Outstanding Comedic Performance - Paul Frost (Harold Hill in The Music Man)

Best Ensemble Cast - Walt Downes, Adam Rewa and Paul Frost (Complete Works of William Shakespeare, Abridged)

Best Breakout Performance - Nikkita (Rocky Horror Picture Show)

​Outstanding Scenic Design - Gordon Kelley

Special Recognition - Pat Cherpes

Volunteer of the Year - Matthew Chambers


Best Actor - Adam Rewa (Bernard S. Dunlap in Suite Surrender)

Best Actress - Whitney Richer (Athena Sinclair in Suite Surrender)

Best Breakout Performance - Mary Lee (Murphy in Suite Surrender)

People's Choice Award - Emily Slater (Mrs. Peacock in Clue, The Musical)

Volunteer of the Year - Tony Mapes


Best Actor - Warren Wentworth (Captain Corcoran in HMS Pinafore)

Best Actress - Terra Bykerk (Carrie Ann in Downward Dog)

Best Supporting Actor - John Slater (Dick Deadeye in H.M.S. Pinafore)

Best Supporting Actress -Nicole Clark ( in H.M.S Pinafore)

Best Director - Terry Ruedger (Downward Dog)

Outstanding Performance by a Chorus Member - Diane Korytkowski (H.M.S Pinafore)

Volunteer of the Year - Terry Burton



Best Actor - Paul Frost (Jimmer Nagamanee in Escanaba in da Moonlight)

Best Actress - Victoria Schott (Charlie Bucket in Willy Wonka and The Chocolate Factory)

Best Supporting Actor - Andrew Cusack (Reuben Soady in Escanaba in da Moonlight)

Best Supporting Actress - Helene Dunn (Grandma Georgina in Willy Wonka and The Chocolate Factory)

Director of the Year - LaFonna Kananen (Escanaba in da Moonlight)

Best Ensemble Cast - Adam Rewa, Paul Frost, Bruce Roetman, Andrew Cusack, Melissa Cusack, Walt Downes (Escanaba in da Moonlight)

Lifetime Achievement Musical Theatre - Mary Cusack

Volunteer of the Year - Bruce Roetman


Best Actor - Brian Camacho (Beast in Beauty and the Beast)

Best Actress - Mary Cusack (Reverend Mother in Nunsensations)

Best Supporting Actor - Michael Rux (Gaston in Beauty and the Beast)

Best Supporting Actress - Jody Rewa (Sister Amnesia in Nunsensations)

Outstanding Costumes - Cathy Haney & crew (Beauty and the Beast)

Outstanding Vocal Performance - Caitlyn Cusack (Sister Mary Leo in Nunsensations)

Volunteer of the Year - Terry Ruedger


Best Actor - Adam Rewa (Robert in Don't Dress for Dinner)

Best Actress - Emily Slater (Cat in the Hat in Seussical the Musical)

Best Supporting Actor - Brian Camacho (Mayor in Seussical the Musical)

Best Supporting Actress - Haley Hildebrandt (Gertrude McFuzz in Seussical the Musical)

Director of the Year - Dennis Janiske (Don't Dress for Dinner)

Volunteer of the Year - Helene Dunn

2007 Spiro Awards

Best Actor - Andrew Bigelow (Zachery in Like Mother, Like Hell)

Best Actress - Cally Redder (Crystal in Little Shop of Horrors)

Best Supporting Actor - Ben Bookie (Richard in Brights)

Best Supporting Actress -Patricia Klein (Mother Abbess in The Sound of Music)

Special Award - Bruce Roetman and Bill Drummond (Audrey Plant in Little Shop of Horrors)

Volunteer of the Year - Angi Denny


Best Actor - Tyler Bartlett (Cinderella)

Best Actress - Samantha Downes (Cinderella)

​Best Supporting Actor - Walt Downes (The Zoo Story)

​Best Supporting Actress - Adrianne Chissus (Cinderella)

Director of the Year - Warren Wentworth (Cinderella)

Outstanding Set Design - Trisha Carter (Cinderella)

​Volunteer of the Year - Cathy Haney


The SPIRO AWARD is named in honor and memory of Spiro Mann, a longtime Director (1975-1989) and supporter of the Ionia Community Theatre.  Spiro Mann directed numerous dramatic and musical productions for Ionia Community Theatre.

Copyright 2018. Ionia Community Theatre

All rights reserved.

Celebrating over 50 years of Community TheatER Excellence


Best Supporting Actress - Pam Robinson (Rumors)
Best Supporting Actor - Adam Rewa (Rumors)
Breakout Performance - Jody Rewa (Rumors)
Best Actor - Tim Gingerich (Grease the Musical)
Best Actress - Jordan White Kameue (Grease the Musical)

Volunteer of the Year - Bill Slater